Tuesday 9 October 07:00pm

New York Philharmonic Presents: MUTED

Monica Germino, violin & voice
6pm doors • 7pm show


Dubbed “the quietest violin piece ever written,” MUTED was composed by Louis Andriessen, Michael Gordon, David Lang, and Julia Wolfe for Monica Germino after she was diagnosed with high sensitivity to sound. Experience this work for violin, “whisperviolin,” voice, and light design as it was meant to be heard — by small groups of listeners in an intimate space. Limited availability.

Co-presented with the New York Philharmonic

Part of the New York Philharmonic’s The Art of Andriessen, a series celebrating Louis Andriessen’s rich musical contributions, and explores a multitude of his works and influences.

Photo credit: Anne Reinke