Saturday 11 January 08:00pm

FERUS Festival: Lucy Dhegrae "A Barely Arching Bridge"

7pm doors • 8pm show


“The Ferus Festival, National Sawdust’s weeklong plunge into experimental storytelling, ricochets between individual and collective experiences.” —New Yorker

A Barely Arching Bridge, a concert by adventurous vocalist and “raconteur” Lucy Dhegrae (New Yorker), confronts sexual violence squarely and unapologetically, and asks how one can transform one’s abuse into a tool of healing. This second installment in Dhegrae’s Processing Series, an exploration of the varied paths towards recovery from sexual trauma which “attempts to shed light on the complex relationship between mind and body” (New York Times), includes the world premiere of Eve Beglarian’s She Gets to Decide, which draws on the composer’s personal history, the painting Thérèse Dreaming by Balthus, and the words of Judge Rosemarie Aquilina during the trial of Larry Nassar — “Leave your pain here, and go out and do your magnificent things.” The program also features works by Amadeus Regucera, Philippe Leroux, Georges Aperghis, Peter Kramer, and Guillaume de Machaut, and a collaborative piece by Erin Rogers and Gelsey Bell (thingNY).

“A barely arching bridge connects the terrible to the tender.” —Rilke

Running time: one hour and fifteen minutes

Read more about Lucy Dhegrae’s 2019-2020 residency at National Sawdust here.


Guided Embodiment Session, 7:30pm-7:50pm
Join us before the show for a 20-minute guided embodiment session facilitated by violinist, yoga instructor, and psychotherapist-in-training Heidi Schaul-Yoder. Learn concrete tools for regulating your nervous system in the face of stress or overwhelm. Heidi will lead participants through seated exercises, inviting you to explore the signals of the body at your own pace, and to bring curiosity to the landscape of sensation. By strengthening the bridge body and mind, you’ll enrich your sensory experience of the themes presented at the evening’s performance, and gain skills to help manage stress in everyday life.