Thursday 11 April 07:00pm

The New Immigrant Experience

Felipe Salles

Music Inspired by Conversations with Dreamers

Written for The Felipe Salles Interconnections Ensemble

6pm doors • 7pm show


The New Immigrant Experience is a powerful new multi-media work, combining live music and video projection, inspired by the experience of the Dreamers (people who are currently protected by DACA, the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals program). Written by Felipe Salles, and developed with the aid of a John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation fellowship, the work uses speech cadences and melodic motives based on key words as its main source of musical material. The speech material was collected through video interviews of a representative group of Dreamers. Their personal stories, experiences of growing up bilingual and undocumented, also inform musical choices. The video portion of the work was created by Fernanda Faya, video director, editor and cinematographer.
This piece will be performed by the Felipe Salles Interconnections Ensemble, a New England–based, 18-piece large jazz ensemble, giving full-throated voice to one of the stories of one of the most misrepresented groups in the United States today.

Jonathan Ball — soprano and alto sax, flute, piccolo
Aaron Dutton — soprano and alto sax, flute
Mike Caudill — soprano and tenor sax, flute, clarinet
Rick DiMuzio — tenor sax, clarinet
Tyler Burchfield — bari sax, clarinet, bass clarinet

Jeff Holmes
Yuta Yamaguchi
Eric Smith
Doug Olsen

Clayton DeWalt
Randy Pingrey
Bulut Gulen
Angel Subero

Rhythm Section:
Nando Michelin — piano
Kevin Grudecki — guitar
Ryan Fedak — vibes
Keala Kaumeheiwa — bass
Bertram Lehmann — drums