Those Who Remain

Inspired by two poems by the iconic Northwest poet Richard Hugo, “Those Who Remain” is a composition in two movements for full orchestra plus improvisor. Commissioned by The Seattle Symphony, the piece premiered in October 2015 at Benaroya Hall, conducted by Ludovic Morlot featuring guitarist Bill Frisell.

“These Hills of Glory” was originally composed in 2004. It is the fourth string quartet by composer Wayne Horvitz. Horvitz states, “Beth Fleenor was the obvious choice for the studio version…the clarinet blends well and provides a perfect contrast to the strings – and her improving is fantastic”.